Siddharth Varadarajan

Journalist | Writer | Analyst

Nuclear separation plan: An update

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has tabled in Parliament additional details today on the Indian nuclear separation plan first unveiled on 7 March 2006.

Specifically, he has identified the 14 reactors which will go under IAEA safeguards between 2006 and 2014, as well as the individual facilities within the Nuclear FuelComplex, Hyderabad, which will be offered for safeguards by 2008.

The 14 reactors to be safeguarded are the following:

2006: TAPS 1 and 2; RAPS 1 and 2 Kudankulam 1 and 2
2007: RAPS 5 (under construction)
2008: RAPS 6 (under construction)
2010: RAPS 3 and 4 (currently operational)
2012: KAPS 1 and 2 (currently operational)
2014: NAPS 1 and 2 (currently operational)

In other words, the thermal power reactors which will remain unsafeguarded are: MAPS 1 and 2 at Kalpakkam (both 220 MWe) ; TAPS 3 and 4 (both 540 MWe) ; and Kaiga 1, 2, 3 and 4 (all 220 MWe). Plus of course the fast breeders.

The Nuclear Fuel Complex facilities to be safeguarded are:

Uranium Oxide Plant (Block A)
Ceramic Fuel Fabrication Plant (Palletizing) (Block A)
Ceramic Fuel Fabrication Plant (Assembly) (Block A)
Enriched Uranium Oxide Plant
Enriched Fuel Fabrication Plant
Gadolinia Facility

2 comments on “Nuclear separation plan: An update

  1. Siddharth Varadarajan
    May 12, 2006

    Thanks. Have corrected it.

  2. Mayurdas Bholanath
    May 11, 2006

    A very minor point. RAPS 3 and 4 should be classified as being “currently operational”, not “under construction”.

Leave a reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on May 11, 2006 by in Nuclear Issues.



%d bloggers like this: